Ask The Umpire

Returning To A Base After A Fly Out

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by bowneball » Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:18 pm

Man on first, fewer than two outs. Batter hits a fly ball to a deep part of the outfield. We know that if the runner goes part way to second and the ball is caught, he has to return to first before attempting to tag up. And, if the runner rounds second (believing the ball won't be caught) we know he has to return and re-touch second before heading back to first. But, if the runner on first heads to second and stands on the base, can he return directly to first after the ball is caught or must he step off second, then re-touch it before going back to first?
bowneball
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 12:11 am

by JimThompson » Wed Sep 24, 2014 3:38 pm

Sorry for delay of response but I was having trouble getting registered. As long as the runner has not passed second all he has to to i return to first. It is not necessary to step on and step off the base.
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by bowneball » Wed Sep 24, 2014 4:19 pm

Thanks, Jim. So, in other words, if he's standing on second, and then the ball is caught, all he has to do is return to first. Great. Thanks.
bowneball
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 12:11 am


Return to Ask The Umpire