Ask The Umpire

batter/runner missed first

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by Stan » Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:41 pm

batter/runner running to first, missed the bag. he ran about 20 ft past the bag, and turned to come back. 1st baseman fielded the throw offline, came back and tagged the base before the batter/runner got back. Is the batter/runner out on a force or does he need to be tagged out?
Stan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:03 pm

by JimThompson » Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:03 am

All the first baseman has to do is tag the bag.
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by VTHokieUmp » Tue Oct 07, 2014 5:59 pm

It's a missed base appeal play so the fielder's action must be a clear appeal and not just an accidental touching of the base.
VTHokieUmp
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:29 pm


Return to Ask The Umpire

cron