Ask The Umpire

Foul Ball - Foul Tip

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by JCbaseball » Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:33 pm

November Stimulation Time Folks

With two outs and a two-strike count on BR, the pitcher throws a curve ball that bounces in front of the plate. After the bounce, BR swings at the pitch and foul's the ball sharp and direct to the catcher’s glove. The ball is held by the catcher. BR starts to walk away but dashes for first and beats the catcher’s throw to the bag. The manager for the defensive team contends his catcher made a legal catch of a foul tip and BR is out on strikes. The OC argues that since the pitch bounced, the third strike was not legally caught by the catcher.

What is the proper call? Thanks!
JCbaseball
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:07 pm

by JimThompson » Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:13 pm

Still a foul tip. Ball went directly from the bat to the catcher's mitt
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by VTHokieUmp » Fri Nov 14, 2014 9:35 pm

Once the bat touched the ball, the pitch ceased to be a pitch and became a batted ball. A batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hand or mitt and is legally caught is a foul tip. (The fact that the pitch bounced prior to becoming a batted ball is irrelevant once it became a batted ball.)

By definition, a foul tip is caught and thus cannot be a third strike not caught. The batter cannot become a runner on a caught third strike.

Sorry OC, that's strike three and the batter is out.
VTHokieUmp
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:29 pm


Return to Ask The Umpire

cron