Ask The Umpire

Ball hit the Dirt - Strike Three Swinging

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by JCbaseball » Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:05 pm

Two outs and Batter swings and misses at a low pitch for strike three. The pitch bounced before the catcher gloved it so the batter can legally attempt to reach first base to avoid being called out. However, the batter does not immediately run to first and the defensive players do not attempt a play to properly retire the batter. In fact, the catcher rolls the ball to the mound and the other fielders begin to leave the playing field heading for their dugout. The batter is still standing near home plate removing his batting gloves when it occurs to him that he may attempt to advance to first base.

At what point in time is it too late for the batter to advance to first base?
JCbaseball
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:07 pm

by JimThompson » Fri Nov 21, 2014 7:57 am

I think under high school rules the batter is not out until he enters the dugout although that may have changed. In HS ,w hen he removes his helmet the umpire shall warn his tean and the second offense results in ejection,In Pro rules the batter is out as soon as he leaves the dirt area around home plate
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by VTHokieUmp » Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:13 pm

Under HS rules, the batter is not out until he enters dead ball territory, so he can run at any time until he enters the dugout or other designated DBT. Under pro rules, he's out as soon as he leave the dirt area around home plate. In your case, if he's still standing in the dirt area, he can run to first under pro rules as well.
VTHokieUmp
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:29 pm


Return to Ask The Umpire

cron