Ask The Umpire

batter interference NFHS rules

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by coachgoose » Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:00 pm

I had read on another site that for batter interference to be called the catcher has to actually make a throw,, Is this the case? in other words a batter steps back out of box and impedes the catcher and catcher just decides not to attempt a throw? Whats the call? Thanks
coachgoose
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 10:03 pm

by JimThompson » Fri Jun 10, 2016 5:16 pm

No throw is required if the intent to throw was hindered by the batter's action. Definitely umpire judgment. Sorry for delay
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by coachgoose » Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:39 pm

thank you Jim
coachgoose
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 10:03 pm


Return to Ask The Umpire