Ask The Umpire

foul ball interference

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by MBlue » Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:52 am

Situation; Runner on 3B, the batter hits a high pop in foul ground to third base. The runner realizes that he could be doubled off on the catch and tries to get back to third and makes hard contact with the third baseman who still manages to catch the ball. The PU calls time declares 'no catch because the runner interfered and the ball was dead when he interfered', calls the runner out and adds a strike to the batter's count because 'it was a foul ball'. Is this the correct call?
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 10:43 am

by JimThompson » Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:18 am

If there are 2 out the batter is declared out. If less than 2 out both the runner and the batter are declared out
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

Return to Ask The Umpire