Ask The Umpire

Any scoring change - interference?

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by nitpicker » Tue May 09, 2017 1:21 pm

Runner is on second base, two out.
Right fielder fields a base hit and throws home where catcher awaits throw. 2nd base runner slides to score while catcher is waiting for the ball (not there yet)--there is no play at home when runner slides (but could have been.)
During this play a camera person runs onto the field of play near third base to get a photo of the possible play at home. The camera person is away from the play on the third base side but on the field. QUESTION: Is there any interference? Is there any penalty to either team?
nitpicker
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:25 am

by JimThompson » Thu May 11, 2017 7:56 am

Where is there any interference? Nothing happened. In MLB cameramen are in the area of play many times.
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by nitpicker » Thu May 11, 2017 9:09 am

What I wanted to find out. Thought there might have been some obscure rule. No harm, no foul.
nitpicker
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:25 am

by JCbaseball » Thu May 11, 2017 11:32 am

Nitpicker

Where was this regarding league and level?

Thanks!
JCbaseball
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:07 pm

by JimThompson » Thu May 11, 2017 6:08 pm

I expect if there were any interference out of this type situation the umpires would rule in the interest of fair play should the interference have not occurred. The rules allow the umpires to rule in the spirit of sportsmanship and fair play on any point not covered by the rules
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by nitpicker » Fri May 12, 2017 6:32 am

College ball, Presidents Athletic Conference, Western PA,WV, Ohio.
nitpicker
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:25 am

by JCbaseball » Sun May 14, 2017 2:34 pm

Thanks for what league it was. I would predict in HS or College that MOST photographers have huge restrictions on where they can or cannot go.
JCbaseball
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:07 pm

by UmpCoach » Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:28 pm

Scenario: Runner on 3B with 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to CF and runner on 3B takes off without tagging up, Runner realizes he did not tagup and heads back to 3B but never goes back to touch the bag as the CF who caught the flyball "chucked" the ball over the Catcher's head and into Out of Play and Runner on 3B is awarded HOME. The correct and proper protocol for the Runner on 3B is that he still needs to go back and retouch 3B and then given Home Plate....correct? OR? If he does not go back to "touch" 3B after awarded HOME, can the opposing team appeal that for not touching 3B?
UmpCoach
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:52 pm


Return to Ask The Umpire

cron