Ask The Umpire

Batter Leans Into Pitch

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by JCbaseball » Fri May 19, 2017 3:03 pm

Is there a rule book penalty for leaning into a pitch - and to then have that penalty be always a called a strike?
JCbaseball
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:07 pm

by JimThompson » Sat May 20, 2017 11:02 am

No. It's also not always a strike.
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by JimThompson » Sat May 20, 2017 1:19 pm

I forgot one comment. You must be a coach to ask such a question!
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm

by JCbaseball » Sat May 20, 2017 1:24 pm

Right you are - and - I saw a batter lean into a pitch and the umpire turned and told the booth that the penalty for doing such a thing was - it must be called a strike.
JCbaseball
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:07 pm


Return to Ask The Umpire

cron