Ask The Umpire

Pitcher in Contact With Pitchers Plate

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by UmpCoach » Sat Jun 03, 2017 12:38 am

Scenario: Runner on 2B with Right Hander pitcher in stretch position. As pitcher in the stretch position he starts his delivery but spins to throw to 2B... as he spins and throws his foot (either one) reconnects with the Pitcher's Plate (rubber) as he throws the ball to 2B....would this be illegal since he throws the ball to a base while foot is engaged with rubber or not because he originally disengaged on his move to throw and it's alright to reconnect with the Rubber while throwing the ball to a base?
UmpCoach
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:52 pm

by JimThompson » Sat Jun 03, 2017 12:04 pm

I have posted a reply twice earlier but for some reason both disappeared. If "He starts his delivery" he has balked. If the delivery has not begun all else is legal. It is not a balk to throw to a base in contact with the rubber.
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm


Return to Ask The Umpire

cron