Ask The Umpire

Pitcher separating ball from glove

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by UmpCoach » Sat Jun 03, 2017 12:49 am

Scenario #1: With runners on base the pitcher foots the Rubber while having the baseball in glove. He is not in the set position as he is standing straight then takes the ball out of his glove then leans forward to take the sign from the catcher.....this is a balk... Correct?

Scenario #2: (same scenario) Runners on base the pitcher foots the Rubber while having the baseball in HIS HAND.... He is not in the set position as he is standing straight then takes the ball AND PUTS IT IN HIS GLOVE....then leans forward to take the sign from the catcher.....this is LEGAL?
UmpCoach
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:52 pm

by JimThompson » Sat Jun 03, 2017 11:39 am

Balk in both cases. Once the pitcher is in contact with the rubber he may not put his hands together and separate them.


There is some latitude given to "settle in," but it must be a continuous motion.
JimThompson
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:14 pm


Return to Ask The Umpire

cron