Ask The Umpire

Taggin up?

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by UmpCoach » Fri Feb 02, 2018 5:32 am

Scenario: Runner on 3B with 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to CF and runner on 3B takes off without tagging up, Runner realizes he did not tagup and heads back to 3B but never goes back to touch the bag as the CF who caught the flyball "chucked" the ball over the Catcher's head and into Out of Play and Runner on 3B is awarded HOME. The correct and proper protocol for the Runner on 3B is that he still needs to go back and retouch 3B and then given Home Plate....correct? OR? If he does not go back to "touch" 3B after awarded HOME, can the opposing team appeal that for not touching 3B?
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:52 pm

by VTHokieUmp » Sat Mar 24, 2018 5:34 pm

The runner must run the bases properly even in the case of a base award. The award does not relieve the runner of retouching third base. R3 should go back and retouch third base before proceeding to home plate. If R3 fails to retouch, he is subject to being called out if the defense properly appeals.
User avatar
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:29 pm

Return to Ask The Umpire