Ask The Umpire

Hanging leg Windup BASES EMPTY

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by aaluck1 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:47 am

Here is the situation (Alabama HS) NFHS Rules: Pitcher, in the windup with NO RUNNERS ON BASE hangs leg in the air, without any movement anywhere else (dead stop) for about 1-3 seconds. Next pitch may not hang at all. Next pitch while hanging leg pumps it up and down twice before delivery. But mainly just hangs leg for between 1 to 3 seconds (no joke....really that long). My reading of 6-1-2 is literal.. "After he starts his movement to pitch, he must continue the motion without INTERRUPTION or alteration.” Now, I'm not saying he cannot have a small pause, but here we have a complete stop.

Is this illegal? If not, why? Do you guys call this or let it go?
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 8:55 am

by VTHokieUmp » Tue May 29, 2018 5:22 pm

If there were runners on base, it would be a balk. Under HS rules, anything that would be a balk with runners on base is an illegal pitch with the bases empty. I might overlook little stuff with the bases empty, but not this. I'd call the illegal pitch.
User avatar
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 6:29 pm

Return to Ask The Umpire