Ask The Umpire

Balk?

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by UmpCoach » Thu May 10, 2018 2:13 am

I have had different answer to this scenario.

This is for NFHS and MLB rules

Scenario #1: Runner on 1B. Righthanded pitcher in the stretch. Pitcher spins to throw to the 1B who is behind or in front of the runner....is this a Balk? Or is it a judgment on the umpire if he feels a play is being made on runner even though off the base?

Scenario #2: Runner on 3B. Righthanded pitcher in the stretch. Pitcher steps toward 3B bah and throws to the 3B player who is about 5'-10' off the 3B bag....is this a Balk or is this a judgment as well?
UmpCoach
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:52 pm

Return to Ask The Umpire

cron