Ask The Umpire

Cubs vs Rockies

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by JCbaseball » Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:52 pm

In last nights game with one out and R1 and R2 - and the Rockies on some thin ice there was a ground ball hit wide of Arenado the ROX F5. He proceeded to go after R2 heading to third in order to tag him for the second out of the inning.

However the coaching DNA in me wondered out loud why he was not better prepared mentally to attempt to go around horn on a 5-4-3 inning ending double play....

Instead Arenado and the Cubs Baez got into (for lack of a better word) hug in the base paths. It appeared Rox skipper Bud Black came out and inquired about *any* interference on the Cub runner.

Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:07 pm

Return to Ask The Umpire