Ask The Umpire

Hanging leg Windup BASES EMPTY

Get quick answers to all your Umpiring Questions from Jim Thompson, a member of the Florida and National High School Hall of Fame

by aaluck1 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:47 am

Here is the situation (Alabama HS) NFHS Rules: Pitcher, in the windup with NO RUNNERS ON BASE hangs leg in the air, without any movement anywhere else (dead stop) for about 1-3 seconds. Next pitch may not hang at all. Next pitch while hanging leg pumps it up and down twice before delivery. But mainly just hangs leg for between 1 to 3 seconds (no joke....really that long). My reading of 6-1-2 is literal.. "After he starts his movement to pitch, he must continue the motion without INTERRUPTION or alteration.” Now, I'm not saying he cannot have a small pause, but here we have a complete stop.

Is this illegal? If not, why? Do you guys call this or let it go?
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 8:55 am

Return to Ask The Umpire